Down to the sea

Norfolk coast, image by me

Norfolk coast, image by me

Has it really been over a fortnight since I posted here? Blimey! Truth be told, I’ve not had time for blogging because the past couple of weeks have been pretty busy. I’m still looking for a job, but now I’ve started doing some volunteering in local museums to pass the time and gain some new skills, and I’m taking on a couple of online short courses as well.

Combine that with my OBOD coursework, learning guitar, working through my ever-increasing reading list, and trying to squeeze in something like a social life, I wonder how I ever had time for a full-time job as well!

So to take a break from taking a break, I went (with my wonderful wife) to the seaside for a short getaway. Whenever I’m feeling stressed or overwhelmed, the sea is always my refuge. There is something magical about the liminal space of a seashore, the place where the land meets the sea and the sky, where the three realms join together.

Sunset, image by me

Sunset, image by me

I’m incredibly lucky that I live in a part of the world where I can hop on a train or bus and be at the coast in just over a couple of hours, and I try to get away there as often as time and money allows.

The sound of the waves on the pebble beach is like a meditative breath, and it’s surprisingly easy to just sit on the seashore and gaze out to the water, then check your watch and find that an hour or more has passed by.

While I rarely do any formal Druid/Pagan rituals or meditations while on holiday, I always find that simply sitting and being in the presence of Nature and the Sacred is more authentically “spiritual” than saying scripted words.

As always, I collected a couple of small stones from the beach (including one with a self-bored hole in the middle) which now sit on my Home Shrine as a reminder of my connection to this special place.

Land, sea and sky. Image by me

Land, sea and sky. Image by me

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

