A mini pilgrimage

Silver birch, Betula pendula. Photo by me

Silver birch, Betula pendula. Photo by me

Over at Druid Life, Nimue Brown asks “how far do you have to go for it to be a pilgrimage”?

While I love getting away to Glastonbury, or even further away to the Northern lands of Scandinavia, I don’t think you need to go far away to have a Pagan pilgrimage. Anywhere that gets you outdoors, amongst the trees and the open sky can be a pilgrimage, whether that is a local wood, a garden or even a city park. It’s the intention that matters, and the connection.

This weekend, in another effort to remind myself that Druidry isn’t just (or even mainly) about books, courses and websites, I went for a day out with my wife to our local Botanic Gardens, as a mini pilgrimage to reconnect with nature. The Gardens are lovely, and as well as the formal Victorian beds, have a large woodland area left to grow naturally. It’s a perfect Druid’s paradise, filled with places to explore and hidden nooks to sit and meditate in.

View through the branches of a Cork Oak, Quercus suber. Photo by me.

View through the branches of a Cork Oak, Quercus suber. Photo by me.

These little moments are a great way to explore wild(-ish) places on your doorstep and become more aware that the Sacred, however you conceive of it, is all around us, not just in big showy landscapes and stone circles.

And for me, ultimately, that’s what Druidry is about: connecting to nature wherever you are.

Tree fern (order Cyatheales) frond about to unfurl. Photo by me.

Tree fern (order Cyatheales) frond about to unfurl. Photo by me.

This entry was posted in Druidry, Paganism, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

