Getting back on track

Sunna's Journey by Nicholas Egelhoff. Image from magicaldruid.com

Sunna’s Journey by Nicholas Egelhoff. Image from magicaldruid.com

My ADF work has taken a bit of a back-seat to other life activities lately, and it’s been a busy time for me. Honestly, I’m a bit overwhelmed by how far behind I’ve got in the Dedicant Path!

But I recently decided to re-boot my practice, and bought a copy of Sunna’s Journey: Norse liturgy through the wheel of the year by fellow ADF-er Nicholas Egelhoff. Sunna’s Journey has full ADF Core Order rituals for each of the eight High Days in the Norse hearth culture, as well as rites for specific Kindreds and for full moons as well as short devotionals for different times of day (following the stations of the sun), different moon phases and daily devotionals.

I’ve had the most difficulty (as I expected I would) with the meditation/mental discipline requirement. Having tried breathing meditations and Buddhist techniques, I find that stilling my mind is nearly impossible for me unless I have something else to do, to focus my thought and intention towards. So doing daily devotionals, with a brief Two Powers meditation in the middle, is far more beneficial for me, and something I can actually stick to.

I’m currently doing a daily devotional from the book each day, referencing the named deity of the day (handily, our days of the week are mostly named after Norse gods anyway), with the exception of Saturdays (named after Saturn instead). Does anyone honour a different Norse deity on Saturdays? I was thinking of having it as Loki’s day but would love to hear others’ experiences.

I’m also trying to spend time outdoors every day, even if it’s just a short walk by the river at lunchtime, to get a connection to nature, the turning of the seasons and the behaviour of the local animals and birds.

It’s a small practice, but at least it’s a re-start, and one which I hope will be sustainable.

RIverside. Image by me.

RIverside. Image by me.

This entry was posted in Druidry, Norse, Paganism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

