Nature is my church

Catterig Force waterfall: a truly hidden and sacred space. Image by my other half.

Catterig Force waterfall: a truly hidden and sacred space. Image by my other half.

I’ve recently returned from a walking holiday in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, which really helped me get away from the stresses of the workday life and back into connection with nature and the land beneath my feet.

What this trip helped me realise is that, while I am happily walking a Norse path at present, what drew me to druidry and paganism in the first place was the focus on nature. Nature is my church and my goddess, and for paganism or heathenry or druidry or whatever to be of any significance to me it needs to be more than books and blog posts and ancient myths.

It needs to be a path of nature worship, of walking the land and the wide open spaces, of finding the hidden sacred groves and caves, of understanding the ecology of a place and knowing its creatures, of sunlight and rain, of land, sea and sky.

All the gods and all the myths and all the essays and books and arguments in the world are only signposts on the path, pointing beyond themselves to the numinous and transcendent wonder of nature itself. It’s easy to lose sight of that in the sea of often heated words online. Close down the computer, put the books back on the shelf for now, put on some walking boots, and get outside to meet the world.

Rolling hills, trees and an amazing sky. What more could you want? Image by me.

Rolling hills, trees and an amazing sky. What more could you want? Image by me.

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nature is my church

  1. Áine Órga says:

    I agree wholeheartedly, it’s so easy to let this slide!

    • Ryan says:

      Thanks! I’m as bad at it as anyone, and it’s easy to let paganism be more about reading (and getting annoyed at) pagan blogs and books and not about getting outside and connecting with the land. I wrote that to remind myself to spend more time in nature, and less time worrying about someone being wrong on the internet!

Leave a Reply

